PH updates list of ‘green’ states for vaccinated travelers

SAFETY FIRST. A security guard checks the body temperature of passengers before entering the Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA) Terminal 3 in Pasay City as it resumed operations for international flights on Wednesday, July 8, 2020. The government has lifted all travel restrictions relative to the outbound travel of Filipinos. | PNA photo by Avito C. Dalan

Travelers from US still required to quarantine for 10 days

THE Philippines has updated its roster of “green” or low-risk nations, which qualifies vaccinated travelers for a shorter quarantine period upon arrival in the country.

In a statement released Friday, July 16, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque announced the revised list of 57 countries and jurisdictions approved by the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) for “the purpose of the testing and quarantine protocols for fully-vaccinated individuals.”

The updated list included 11 additional states and jurisdictions, namely Azerbaijan, Barbados, Bermuda, Comoros, Curacao, Dominica, Gabon, Liechtenstein, Mali, North Macedonia, and Romania.

Meanwhile, Belize, Liberia, Malawi, Morocco, Mozambique, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Sierra Leone, Senegal, and Zimbabwe were removed from the list.

The United States was still not considered as “green,” which means travelers coming from the country will have to quarantine in a government-approved facility for 10 days instead of seven.

Below is the updated list of “green” states and jurisdictions approved by the COVID-19 task force:

  1. Albania
  2. American Samoa
  3. Anguilla
  4. Antigua and Barbuda
  5. Australia
  6. Azerbaijan
  7. Barbados
  8. Benin
  9. Bermuda
  10. The British Virgin Islands
  11. Brunei
  12. Burkina Faso
  13. Cayman Islands
  14. Chad
  15. China
  16. Comoros
  17. Cote d’ Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  18. Curacao
  19. Dominica
  20. Eswatini
  21. Falkland Islands
  22. French Polynesia
  23. Gabon
  24. The Gambia
  25. Ghana
  26. Greenland
  27. Grenada
  28. Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region of China)
  29. Iceland
  30. Isle of Man
  31. Israel
  32. Laos
  33. Liechtenstein
  34. Mali
  35. Malta
  36. Marshall Islands
  37. Mauritius
  38. Federated States of Micronesia
  39. Montserrat
  40. New Caledonia
  41. New Zealand
  42. Niger
  43. Nigeria
  44. North Macedonia
  45. Northern Mariana Islands
  46. Palau
  47. Romania
  48. Saba (Special Municipality of the Kingdom of Netherlands)
  49. Saint Barthelemy
  50. Saint Pierre and Miquelon
  51. Singapore
  52. Sint Eustatius
  53. South Korea
  54. Taiwan
  55. Togo
  56. Turks and Caicos Islands (UK)
  57. Vietnam

Individuals should have stayed exclusively within the “green” countries 14 days prior to their arrival in the Philippines. They will be considered fully vaccinated two weeks after completing their shots.

They are also required to carry their official documentation of full vaccination validated through the Philippine Overseas Labor Office (POLO), or present their International Certificate of Vaccination (ICV).

The Bureau of Quarantine (BoQ) will ensure strict symptom monitoring while the travelers are in quarantine facilities.

On the fifth day of their quarantine, they will be required to take a reverse transcription-polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) test.

If the test yielded a negative result, individuals will still need to complete the seven-day facility quarantine. And if they tested positive, they would need to observe the prescribed isolation protocols

Individuals will receive a quarantine certificate issued by the BoQ where their vaccination status is indicated upon completion of the seven-day facility-based quarantine.

Ritchel Mendiola

Ritchel Mendiola is a staff writer and reporter for the Asian Journal. You can reach her at

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The Filipino-American Community Newspaper. Your News. Your Community. Your Journal. Since 1991.

Copyright © 1991-2021 Asian Journal Media Group. All Rights Reserved.