Comelec: One proclamation for both Senate and party-list winners

THE Philippine Commission on Elections on Friday, May 17, said that the proclamation of winners for the senatorial and party-list races will be done at the same time.

Comelec spokesperson James Jimenez said that the plan to announce them simultaneously is seen as “more efficient [and] better for everyone.”

“One of the directions we’re going is one proclamation for both Senate and party-list winners. So we cannot rush because we still need to compute [votes] in party-list race,” Jimenez said.

The Comelec spokesperson also said winners could be proclaimed as early as Sunday but the date is not yet final. According to Jimenez, “Sunday is too tentative. As a heads up, it’s a reasonable window but not confirmed yet.”

Other sectors have been urging the Comelec to suspend the proclamation due to reports of discrepancies in the voting machines as well as allegations of electoral fraud and irregularities. However, Jimenez said that the proclamation of winning candidates will not be suspended.

“There was a problem with a small part of the process but it would not affect the integrity of the results,” the poll spokesperson said.

Partial and unofficial results

As of 3:03 p.m. on Friday, May 17 (Philippine time) a total of 97.60 percent of votes were tallied ranking the following senatorial candidates and their respective political parties.

Still topping the list is Cynthia Villar (NP) with 25,040,325 votes; followed by Grace Poe (Independent) with 21,864,211 votes; Bong Go (PDP-Laban) with 20,365,860 votes; Pia Cayetano (NP) with 19,576,839 votes.

Fifth on the list is Bato dela Rosa (PDP-Laban) with 18,720,760 votes; Sonny Angara (LDP) with 17,995,167 votes; Lito Lapid (NPC) with 16,834,115 votes; Imee Marcos (NP) with 15,687,076 votes.

Followed by Francis Tolentino (PDP-Laban) with 15,302,733 votes; Bong Revilla (Lakas-CMD) with 14,490,537 votes; Koko Pimentel (PDP-Laban) with 14,487,551 votes and Nancy Binay (UNA) with 14,410,240 votes. 

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The Filipino-American Community Newspaper. Your News. Your Community. Your Journal. Since 1991.

Copyright © 1991-2021 Asian Journal Media Group. All Rights Reserved.