City of Glendale to give $400 fine to those not wearing a mask

The City of Glendale, California is urging residents to wear a mask or face a fine of up to $2,000.

GLENDALE is the latest Southern California city that has approved imposing a fine to those who are not wearing a facial covering in public.

The city council on Tuesday, July 21 approved a measure that would fine individuals with $400 for a first violation. The fees escalate to $1,000 for a second violation and $2,000 for a third time.

The order also allows businesses to refuse service to anyone who does not cover their face or fails to comply with social distancing.

“Businesses must also take all reasonable steps to ensure those in line or entering their business wear face coverings and comply with physical distancing requirements,” the city said in a statement.

The city reminded residents and visitors to wear a face covering when in public, with exceptions, such as children under the age of 2, individuals with certain disabilities, or anyone who has trouble breathing “or is unconscious, incapacitated, or otherwise unable to remove the Face Covering without assistance.”

The latest mandate follows other cities that have begun fining, such as Beverly Hills, West Hollywood, Santa Monica, Manhattan Beach and Calabasas. (AJPress)

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.